# Carmichael Golf Club Newsletter

December 7, 2014

# **Upcoming Events**

*Teal Bend, Saturday, March 21, 2015* – Tournament of Champions (TOC) event – 52 qualifiers. Invitations will be sent out in February 2015.

Ancil Hoffman, Saturday, April 11, 2015 – this will be our first full field event of 2015. Ancil is the closest thing to our 'home' course – we hope to see a big turnout for this event.

Monterey trip, July 16-18, 2015 - we have all the dates and courses committed for this trip, but do not have the final contracts and costs yet. Requests for deposits for this trip will likely be sent out in February or March 2015.

# End of Year Prizes (Statistical Leaders) for 2014

At our annual Christmas Party on December 6, 2014, the following year end prizes were awarded (multiple wins for each individual in a particular category noted with []):

# First Flight (up to 14.2 index at mid-year)

Golfer of the Year: Jay Simi (flame trophy) [2010, 2011]

Most Improved Golfer: Scott Battenburg (octagon trophy)

Net Scoring Average: Larry Marietti, 72.50 (\$ 15) [2007, 2008, 2010, 2013]

Putts Per Round Average: David Hazelwood, 30.00 (\$ 20) (better than flight average 30.92) Putting Average (per Greens In Regulation only): Mike A. Johnson, 1.94 (\$ 20) (better than

flight average 1.95)

Greens In Regulation Average: Scott Battenburg, 6.63 (\$ 15)

### Second Flight (14.3 to 20.6 index at mid-year)

Golfer of the Year: Erick Ammons (flame trophy)

Most Improved Golfer: Shelley Barr (octagon trophy) [2006, 2011, 2012]

Net Scoring Average: Erick Ammons, 73.25 (\$ 15)

Putts Per Round Average: Erick Ammons, 32.67 (\$ 15)

Putting Average (per Greens In Regulation only): Dan White, 2.07 (\$ 20) [2012] (better than

flight average 2.09)

Greens In Regulation Average: Erick Ammons, 5.33 (\$ 15)

# **End of Year Prizes (Statistical Leaders) for 2014 (continued)**

Third Flight (20.8 to 27.9 index at mid-year)

Golfer of the Year: Judi Ferreira (flame trophy)

Most Improved Golfer: Judi Ferreira (octagon trophy) Net Scoring Average: Andrew Dyba, 74.00 (\$ 15)

Putts Per Round Average: Mike Agrippino, 32.69 (\$ 20) [2000, 2003-04, 2007, 2009-11, 2013]

(better than flight average 33.10)

Putting Average (per Greens In Regulation only): Andrew Dyba, 2.13 (\$ 15)

Greens In Regulation Average: Gary Borge, 2.75 (\$ 15) [2011]

### Fourth Flight (28.4 index and up at mid-year)

Golfer of the Year: Connie Earley (flame trophy)

Most Improved Golfer: Letitia Ruiter (octagon trophy)

Net Scoring Average: Tommie Rohrer, 70.67 (\$ 20) [2009] (better than flight average 73.18) Putts Per Round Average: Jim Rohrer, 32.44 (\$ 20) [2011] (better than flight average 34.22) Putting Average (per Greens In Regulation only): Sylvia Cisneros, 2.23 (\$ 15) [2004, 2006, 2013]

Greens In Regulation Average: Sylvia Cisneros, 1.47 (\$ 15) [2012]

# **Improved Indexes in 2014**

In 2008, we made the switch for the Most Improved Golfer awards from a 1 year cycle to a 2 year cycle – we felt this was needed to truly recognize an improvement curve over an extended period. However, for the newsletter, we want to continue to recognize improved handicap indexes during the current year.

After last year where the number of player improvements was at an all time high (59%), Club members improved their index during 2014 at a still impressive but more common rate of 46% (36 of 78). Twelve (12) players improved their index by 10% or more during 2014. Listed below are members who improved their index in 2014, their percentage improvement and index reduction (improvement by 10% or greater in bold print):

Mike Aceituno - 3%, 0.6 Erick Ammons - 1%, 0.2 Karen Ammons - 12%, 3.7 Vince Avila - 10%, 1.3 Shelley Barr - 16%, 3.0 Scott Battenburg - 5%, 0.5

Shawn Campbell – 10%, 1.4 Jack Dever - 6%, 1.1 Andrew Dyba - 3%, 0.7 Judi Ferreira – 17%, 4.1 Kevin Gorospe – 90%, 1.7

Judy Hales - 4%, 1.1

Christine Lodge – 17%, 4.5 Larry Marubashi - 5%, 1.6 Doralyn McPeake – 10%, 1.7 Joe Mexas - 9%, 1.7 Mike Neff - 2%, 0.6 Ron Payne - 8%, 1.2

Jim Rohrer - 4%, 1.2 Tommie Rohrer - 3%, 0.8 Carole Rooney - 2%, 0.5 Letitia Ruiter - 3%, 1.2 Ken Sano - 9%, 1.6 Mike Scoggins - 7%, 0.9

# **Improved Indexes in 2014 (continued)**

Al Hooker – 20%, 2.7 John Ireland - 7%, 1.2 Jay Jackson - 3%, 0.5 Mike A. Johnson – 18%, 1.4 Mitch Johnson - 7%, 0.6 John Keplinger - 1%, 0.3 Jay Simi - 1%, 0.1 Errol Thomas - 13%, 3.3 Anne Topper-Hall - 8%, 3.2 Jeanette Turvill - 8%, 1.9 Craig Wahlquist - 11%, 1.3 Dan White - 6%, 1.2

The CGC record for consecutive years of a continuous improvement curve is 5 years, and is held by 6 players – Matt Gilchrist and Tom Haltom (1999-2003), Terry Barr and Mike Johnson (2004-2008), Gary Borge (2007-2011) and Jason Deen (2008-2012).

We began 2014 with 10 current members having a continuous improvement curve of 3 years (2011-2013). Heading into 2015, the longest current active streaks of continuous improvement curve belongs to a much smaller group of 2 players at 4 years (2011-2014), as follows: Mike Aceituno and Kevin Gorospe.

# **2015 CGC Tournament of Champions**

Either through the winning of a Flight (or 1 - tieing for the low net score prior to the application of a scorecard tie-breaker, or 2 - having a low net score in the top 10% for a specific event, regardless of Flight) at a CGC event in 2014, or by leading a year-long statistical category for a Flight – the following 52 players have qualified for our 2015 season opening Tournament of Champions event (to be held at Teal Bend on Saturday, March 21, 2015). The 52 players are as follows:

Mike Aceituno, Mike Agrippino, Erick Ammons, Karen Ammons, Sharon Arnot, Vince Avila, Shelley Barr, Scott Battenburg, Gary Borge, Joanne Briggs, Fran Brolan, Shawn Campbell, Richard Cisneros, Sylvia Cisneros, Jack Dever, Andrew Dyba, Connie Earley, Judi Ferreira, John Fischer, Stella Garin, Robert Hall, Tom Haltom, David Hazelwood, Jim Holmes, Al Hooker, Jay Jackson, Mike A. Johnson, Mitch Johnson, Rhonda Johnson, Sheila Johnson, Tim Kosik, Christine Lodge, Clark Londquist, Karen Maez, Larry Marietti, Doralyn McPeake, Greg Paulo, Ron Payne, Alan Rankin, Debbie Rankin, Jim Rohrer, Tommie Rohrer, Letitia Ruiter, Ken Sano, Marcos Silva, Jay Simi, Errol Thomas, Rhane Thomas, Jeanette Turvill, Craig Wahlquist, Dan White, Ken Worman.

# **2015 Memberships**

While still in our renewal period, we currently stand at the 41 member mark for 2015 (40 renewals and 1 new member). We hope to see this number jump significantly in the coming weeks.

This is the last newsletter documenting the 2014 CGC season. If you are not re-joining the CGC in 2015, we wish you the best and hope our paths cross again in the future. We look forward to seeing you on the links in 2015!

**CGC Website:** www.carmichaelgolfclub.com

Alan/Deb home telephone / email: 386-8132 / rankingolf@comcast.net or

rankingolf@aol.com