

RENO TRIP - JUNE 20-22, 2019

As referenced in the daily recaps, the 2019 Carmichael Golf Club (CGC) away trip to the Reno area was our 5th trip to Nevada - 2003 to Carson City, 2010-13-16-19 to Reno. What started with trips to Monterey in 1996 to beat the Sacramento heat of the Summer then expanded to trips to Graeagle beginning in 2000. A third trip for the rotation was beneficial - as Monterey is expensive, and Graeagle a little too quiet and remote for some. Reno has ended up being a nice compliment - with plenty of options for golfers and non-golfing family and friends alike.

We eventually hope to compare the difficulty of the various courses from all trips through the years - but we suspect the 2019 courses will rank fairly highly on the difficulty scale, based on the following information:

Par 3's: The six (6) most difficult par 3's in scoring average in 2019 CGC events (as well as 8 of 10, and 9 of 12) were during the Reno trip.

Par 4's: Lakeridge par 4's were generally difficult (9 of 11 in the top half of difficulty in 2019 CGC events) - and while Wolf Run and Red Hawk Lakes were more gentle, both still had 6 of 10 par 4's in the top half of difficulty in 2019 CGC events.

Par 5's: Seven (7) of the 10 most difficult par 5's in scoring average in 2019 CGC events were during the Reno trip.

Courses: Lakeridge (1st) and Wolf Run (2nd) were the two most difficult tracks in 2019 CGC events, comprising the 4 most difficult 9 hole scoring averages.

The multi day (and individual day) Flight winners on this trip were as follows:

1st: Mike A. Johnson, 4 under par net 211 (by 6 strokes over Mitch Johnson) (individual day winners: Bruce Hoffman, Mike A. Johnson, Mitch Johnson)

2nd: Erick Ammons, 1 over par net 216 (by 12 strokes over Mike Aceituno) (individual day winners: Doreen Brown, Rhonda Johnson, Ken Worman)

3rd: Diane Hoffman, 6 over par net 221 (by 5 strokes over Sherry Aceituno) (individual day winners: Rick Givans, Diane Hoffman, Sherry Aceituno)

4th: Sue Eland, 10 over par net 225 (by 9 strokes over Bill Wade) (individual day winners: Sue Eland, Judi Ferreira, Sue Eland)